The Jazprose Diaries
The Jazprose Diaries
Amanuensis - Part III, Chapter 20
0:00
-4:33

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Jazprose Diaries

Amanuensis - Part III, Chapter 20

Pretending
Agnes Moorhead in character via Flickr

Part III, Chapter 20

Pretending

“I think I’ve always acted,” Agnes said, “even as a child.  Before I found steady work at the Mercury, I sometimes went without eating for days at a time.  That dress you’re wearing is from those very lean days. You look better in it than I ever did.  I could have done something else.…

This post is for paid subscribers

The Jazprose Diaries
The Jazprose Diaries
Literary fiction and essays by an award-winning writer from the Deep South focusing on the current zeitgeist and the news that stays news.