The Jazprose Diaries
The Jazprose Diaries
Last Boat to the San Juan Islands
0:00
-21:01

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Jazprose Diaries

Last Boat to the San Juan Islands

How a dying woman became a lasting reminder of the importance of human connection
10
Photo by Jackson Eaves on Unsplash

It is one of those nights when the commute between Seattle and my so-called home in the San Juan Islands feels more like punishment than reward.  Long day, long drive, long boat ride.  I’m working harder than I want at a job I dislike to maintain a bourgeois veneer I don’t even believe in. It is already dark when I reach the ferry landing feeling not so much dead inside as…neutral, on hold.  

This post is for paid subscribers

The Jazprose Diaries
The Jazprose Diaries
Literary fiction and essays by an award-winning writer from the Deep South focusing on the current zeitgeist and the news that stays news.