The Jazprose Diaries
The Jazprose Diaries
In the Waste Land, No Netflix
0:00
-20:40

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Jazprose Diaries

In the Waste Land, No Netflix

April may be the cruelest month, but there are many treasures hidden among the ashes.
5

This year marks the 100th anniversary of T.S. Eliot’s The Waste Land, one of the most important literary works of the 20th century. Published four years after World War I, “the war to end all wars,” it remains sadly relevant as the world teeters once again on the brink.

In today’s Jazprose Diaries, I won’t try to unpack the poem scholars have been analyzing for the past ten decades. But I would like to honor its centennial with my own small effort to pick through the cultural debris.

So today, I’m going to tell you about upcoming changes to this publication based on your engagement with it. I’ll also share five treasures I’ve found recently that may be of interest to you.

What follows is a brief look at:

  1. A riveting novel that reimagines Jane Austen’s most popular story

  2. The most delightful Agatha Christie adaptation I’ve ever come across

  3. The mystery behind the mystery of John le Carré’s final book

  4. The best essayist you’ve never heard of, and

  5. A must-see TV series from Australia, which unmasks the chaos of TV news and the fragile lives of the people who bring it to you.

I’ll save the "Me” part till the end.

But first, a word about Netflix.

This post is for paid subscribers

The Jazprose Diaries
The Jazprose Diaries
Literary fiction and essays by an award-winning writer from the Deep South focusing on the current zeitgeist and the news that stays news.